Arsenic Speciation Comes of Age: Validating Robust and High Throughput Methods for Various Food Matrices

When: 20/21 June, 2017
Broadcast #1
20 June, 2017 - 1PM BST / 2PM CEST

Broadcast #2
20 June, 2017 - 9AM PDT / 12PM EDT

Broadcast #3
21 June, 2017 - 11AM Singapore / 1PM Sydney / 3PM Auckland

Presenters: Dr Susan Ebeler, Courtney Tanabe and Dr Jenny Nelson

There is growing consumer concern and increasing media attention over the levels of inorganic arsenic (iAs) present in beverages, rice and rice products such as baby formula. Government and regulatory focus is leading to the introduction of new regulations requiring more widespread and stringent testing for arsenic in food and drink. In this webinar event UC Davis (Food Safety and Measurement Facility), and Agilent Technologies will present the most recent developments in arsenic speciation methodology, with a focus on robust, validated methods for accurate and reliable determination of arsenic species in food safety applications.

This webinar will present results for wines tested for arsenic species concentrations using 2 different HPLC-ICP-MS methods. We will also describe results from a multi-laboratory validation (MLV) that demonstrates that the U.S. FDA method for As in fruit juice – Elemental Analysis Manual (EAM) §4.10 – could be extended to include wine samples. In addition, we will introduce details of a fast (less than 2 minutes per sample), fit-for-purpose method that has been developed for routine, high-throughput iAs screening of foodstuffs. We will also cover the regulations that apply in the testing of a variety food matrices and beverages.

By attending this webinar you will learn:
    Practical approach to arsenic speciation following FDA EAM §4.10 method
    Extension of EAM §4.10 to other beverage products
    Development of a fast HPLC-ICP-MS method for As speciation

Register for this free access event -